Houston Society of Clinical Pathologists             John P. McGovern Building                                Phone:  713-524-4267           Privacy Policy   Terms & Conditions

2023 © All rights reserved.                                    1515 Hermann Drive | Houston, TX  77004      Fax:      713-526-1434          

2023 Harlan J. Spjut Award
to honor
David Yawn, M.D.

The Board of Directors of the Houston Society of Clinical Pathologists established the Harlan J. Spjut Award in 1989, upon the announcement of Dr. Spjut’s retirement, to recognize an individual who has demonstrated sustained and distinguished scholarly achievement in pathology or related disciplines.

This years recipient is David Yawn, MD, Professor, Department of Pathology, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX . Dr. Yawn will be honored at 7:00 p.m. on Saturday, April 22, 2023 at InterContinental Houston - Medical
Center, 6750 Main St., Houston, TX 77030.

Harlan J. Spjut, M.D.
In Memoriam

Harlan J. Spjut received his B.S. degree from the University of Utah and his M.D. degree from the University of Utah College of Medicine where he completed his residency in Anatomic Pathology in 1953. He then served in the Department of Surgical Pathology, Washington University School of Medicine from 1954-1961, advancing from Instructor to Associate Professor. In 1962, he was recruited to Baylor College of Medicine as Professor of Pathology and Chief of Anatomic Pathology of the Ben Taub and Jefferson Davis Hospitals of the Harris County Hospital District. From 1969-1972, he was Acting Chairman of the Department of Pathology, Baylor College of Medicine. Through the years 1971-1980 Dr. Spjut practiced at St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital of Houston where he was Chief of Anatomic Pathology. In 1980, he returned full time to Baylor College of Medicine and in 1983 was named to the Clarence and Irene Fulbright Chair of Pathology, a post he held until his retirement in 2004. He resumed his position as Acting Chairman of Pathology from 1987-1988. He specialized in orthopedic, gastrointestinal and cytologic pathology with particular interests in neoplasms of the bones and gastrointestinal tract.

Dr. Spjut served on committees for the National Cancer Institute, including Clinical Cancer Training and Clinical Cancer Education. He was a member of The Advisory Committee on Diagnosis and Therapy of the American Cancer Society and of the Awards Assembly of the General Motors Cancer Research Foundation. Dr. Spjut authored over 129 articles in refereed biomedical journals and 24 chapters and books. The Spjut Award was conceived by the 1987 Board of Directors of the Houston Society of Clinical Pathologists and is bestowed in recognition of distinguished scholarly activities, teaching, leadership, patient care and service to pathology.